Micro-Electric Vehicle Competition

2018 TBA

The first objective of the competition is to design and build a dry cell powered vehicle (battery supplied) to race up a fixed incline while pulling a six ounce weighted trailer (supplied). The second objective is to be the first to pass the finish line with the trailer in tow. In addition, a four-minute presentation and a one-page, typewritten report about the vehicle is optional.

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) are a central focus of SAE Detroit Section’s K-12 programs. This event is a STEM project that provides an opportunity for students to build a mini-vehicle and compete with other schools for cash prizes.

Preparing for this competition can be an after-school activity or part of a classroom curriculum. Teachers are encouraged to challenge their students’ problem-solving skills and set their sights on future transportation and career opportunities while developing their physics, math, and engineering skills.


OVERALL (winning schools)
First Place – $1,000
Second Place – $750
Third Place – $500

DESIGN (top three teams)
First Place – $100
Second Place – $75
Third Place – $50

PERFORMANCE (top three teams in each class)
Capacitor and Non-Capacitor Class
First Place – $100
Second Place – $75
Third Place – $50

This award is for schools who have never participated. The school with the highest number of points in the performance or design category will win this award.

Sponsorship Form
2017 Micro-Electric Vehicle Competition Winners

For more information, contact Roxanne Loeffler at roxanne.loeffler@sae-detroit.org or (248) 324-4445 ext. 3.